Comparison · prices verified October 30, 2026
ChatPDF vs Humata
Both let you upload documents and ask questions with answers drawn from the text. They differ in how they meter usage and who they are built for.
Our verdict
ChatPDF meters by documents: the free plan covers 2 documents a day, and Plus ($8.25 a month billed yearly, $13.99 monthly) removes document and question limits with up to 2,000 pages per PDF. Humata meters by pages: the free plan includes 60 pages a month, Expert is $9.99 a month for up to three users with 500 pages, and Team adds OCR, permissions and 5,000 pages.
For a student or researcher reading many long papers, ChatPDF's unlimited Plus plan is better value. For a small team that needs shared folders, permissions and OCR on scanned files, Humata's Team plan is the one built for that.
- you read many long documents and want no page metering
- you want to start with no account
- you work alone
- you share documents across a small team
- you need OCR for scanned PDFs (Team plan)
- you want folder-level permissions
Side-by-side
| ChatPDF | Humata AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial score | 3.8 / 5 | 3.9 / 5 |
| Starting price | From $8.25/mo | From $9.99/mo |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Categories | AI PDF Assistants | AI PDF Assistants |
| Windows | — | — |
| Mac | — | — |
| Linux | — | — |
| Web | ✓ | ✓ |
| iOS | — | — |
| Android | — | — |
| OCR (scan to text) | Not confirmed | ✓ |
| AI assistant | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chat with PDF | ✓ | ✓ |
| AI summaries | ✓ | ✓ |
| Compare documents | Not confirmed | ✓ |
| API access | ✓ | Not confirmed |
| Cloud storage | ✓ | ✓ |
| Team admin console | Not confirmed | ✓ |
| Features score | 3.7 | 4.3 |
| Value for money score | 4.0 | 4.0 |
| Ease of use score | 4.7 | 4.3 |
| Platform coverage score | 1.8 | 1.8 |
| Pricing transparency score | 5.0 | 4.3 |
| Prices verified | October 30, 2026 | October 30, 2026 |
Plans and prices
ChatPDF
- Free$0 2 documents per day
- Plus (yearly)$8.25/mo billed yearly ("save 40%")
- Plus (monthly)$13.99/mo billed monthly
Humata AI
- Free$0 free
- Expert$9.99 per month
- Team$49 per user / month
- Enterprisecustom per user / month
Add more products to this comparison
More comparisons
Written by Daniel Reyes. Product facts come only from each vendor's own website; see the source links in the table.